Wading Back In

My daughter Christina at Lake Erie

Well, it’s been nearly 2 years since I became the senior pastor at Heather Hills Baptist Church in Indianapolis, Indiana.  For most of that time, I have chosen not to blog regularly.  Frankly, I needed a break from blogging.  I got into blogging when it was “trendy” a few years back and really enjoyed the opportunity to interact with people I had never met from all over the country on a wide variety of subjects.

There was also a compulsion to speak.  Over the years, as we “grow up” in life and ministry, we see and hear lots of discussions on lots of topics.  Many times, I wasn’t a part of the conversation and yet had some opinions about the topics.  Blogging was a way to let my voice be known, right or wrong, on the topics I was most interested in.  I was often challenged, sometimes corrected, and always sharpened through the blogosphere.

Of course, in the past 23 months I have had many more life experiences and been engaged in a whole host of new discussions which I have not shared publicly.  Why? Mostly, because blogging takes a decent amount of time.  As a new pastor, in my first senior pastorate, I was advised by many that I needed to dedicate at least the first year of my new ministry just getting to know my congregation and faithfully preaching the Word to them.  By the way–great advice.  Along the way, I have been able to settle into a ministry routine, hire an associate pastor to take on some specific projects, and begin to think big picture again, with regard to life and ministry. In other words, I’m ready to poke my head back into the digital online world and have the opportunity to interact with you all again.

However, this time, it will be a little different. I am not necessarily going to concentrate on the most contemporary or controversial topics–even though they are the areas that generate the most traffic on one’s blog.  Rather, I am persuaded that in all of life, even blogging, I am to speak (type) only what is edifying, what builds.  So, I want to use this blog to do exactly that.  Build people.  I want to share things I am studying and reading, as well as life experiences that are instructive.  I want to think out loud about important, spiritual realities.

So, don’t expect lots of articles on Christian rap, King James Only issues, Mark Driscoll, Bashing Fundamentalism, or any other topics that are fun to fight about.  I may touch on these issues from time to time.  But primarily, I want to build the kingdom of God, starting with my own local congregation and reaching out as far as the Lord wills. I welcome your companionship and sharpening along the way!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hello! I’m always interested in reading the blogs of other people who love the Lord!

    “I want to think out loud about important, spiritual realities.”

    I’m disheartened at how few Christian people actually will share what they really think.

    That’s the beauty of the blogosphere!

    I say, “Let it rip”

    Reply

  2. Posted by Christian Markle on May 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Welcome back, Brother McCrorie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

