One Nation Under God?

Meghan McCain signs an autograph for Ashley McCrorie.

Meghan McCain signs an autograph for Ashley McCrorie.

On Monday afternoon, I finally gave in and dragged myself to one political rally.  I hadn’t participated at all in the general election like I usually do.  I just was not motivated.  As my readers know, I was feverishly supportive of Mike Huckabee in the primary election; however, once McCain got the Republican nod, my enthusiasm dissipated.  And so, I reluctantly dragged my 3 oldest children off to the Indianapolis airport on Monday to witness one final campaign event for the season.  I do believe that government is important–something that God established.  And, I want my children to understand the importance of the institution itself.  I even took a couple of my children to a Hilary Clinton rally back in the primary season to demonstrate that point!

Well, as far as rallies go, the one I attended on Monday was okay.  The crowd was excited but not that large and not as excited as in years past.  I had the opportunity to personally greet John and Cindy McCain and their daughter Meghan, along with Senators Joe Lieberman, Lindsay Graham, and Mel Martinez, and wish them well and assure them of my prayers for them.  But they were clearly tired and just putting on a good face for the crowd.  I think they knew what was coming.

I watched the return last night until California was called for Obama and the election was over.  I watched as many states, including my own, flipped from red to blue.  I watched the excitement in Grant Park in Chicago as Obama supporters prepared to welcome the President-elect of the United States.  I knelt in prayer for this new leader, ordained of God for this office at this time.  He will be my President too, not by my choice but by God’s.  Who am I to argue?

There has been much talk over the last nine hours about how this is the fulfillment of Martin Luther King Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech so many years ago.  I disagree.  What I heard last night and this morning is the excitement that a black man would be the President.  There was little to no discussion about Obama’s priorities and values; this election is clearly being overshadowed by the historic nature of the candidate’s skin color.

People forget that Barack Obama was reared by a white single mom and white grandparents.  He is a biracial individual.  But that is not what is represented in the tears of Jesse Jackson and other prominent black leaders in our country.  They see Barack Obama as a symbol of finally smashing through the racial barriers that go back as far as our country.

Please understand that I am not a racist.  It is not even a consideration for me.  I love people, regardless of their color or ethnicity.  America certainly did oppress blacks.  We kept them in slavery.  We didn’t allow them to vote.  We counted them as fractions of a person.  We segregated our schools.  All of this was evil.

But King’s dream was not that someone could become President because he was black.  Rather, it was the dream that color would NOT be an issue in America.  What would be the determining point in King’s dream?  CHARACTER.

This election did not bring King’s dream to reality.  I continue to have serious questions about the character of Barack Obama.  I disagree with him on almost every front.  I doubt that he has the experience to be prepared for what lies ahead.  Politically, I view him as an extremist.

But he WILL be my President.  I will pray for him and submit myself to his leadership, so long as he does not violate the Scriptural demands on my life.

In the pledge of allegiance, we recite “one nation, under God.”  I still believe we have a very fractured nation in many respects.  While we are united nationally, we are so broken politically, socially, and morally.

But no matter what lies ahead, we still remain “under God.”  The sovereignty of my Father will always supersede the authority of my President.  As Proverbs teaches “The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD; he directs it like a watercourse wherever he pleases.” (Proverbs 21:1)

There is great confidence and assurance in possessing the divine Light that illuminates our way ahead.  We who are followers of Jesus need not fear the changes in society or government.  We always know the way forward.  Our commission is clear.  Our Savior is sufficient.  Our message is life-changing.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Randy Martin on November 5, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Although we are going to see many changes as the result of this election, as a Christian, I rest in the assurance that God is in control. May this be a time where Christians are unified seeking God and following His direction. IN GOD WE TRUST.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

