Breaking the Silence

After over three months of conference calls, interviews, site visits, and much prayer, I was honored to be able to candidate last weekend for the senior pastor opening at Heather Hills Baptist Church in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Although the final congregational vote is still to come this Sunday, July 27th, the Lord seems to be leading us together with unanimous recommendations from their pastoral search committee and deacon board and wonderful interaction with the congregation.  It was an exhausting weekend with numerous meetings, conversations, and two preaching opportunities; yet, our whole family is still very excited at the prospect of ministering with this group of believers on the east side of Indianapolis.  I have to admit that at the beginning of this process I was not really interested in going to Indianapolis.  I have lived in the city before as a young person, and remember the numerous, large Bible-believing churches that dotted the landscape.  I desperately wanted to minister in an area where the Gospel had not been so saturated.

Well, as I began to explore the demographics surrounding this church, I was surprised to find that there were very few Bible-believing churches on the east side of the city.  I was also surprised to find the extraordinary number of young adults in the area.  I was even further surprised to see how ethnic diversity had grown up quickly on that side of the city within the last decade.  There is incredible potential for the work of the Gospel.

As a result, the Lord began to burden my heart for this ministry.  I had the opportunity to preach at Heather Hills twice prior to this past weekend, and I was thrilled each time to see the good response of the congregation to the Word as well as the devotion of the congregation to the work of the ministry.  I was a little surprised to see this, to tell you the truth, because most churches that have been a good while without a senior pastor are not flourishing–rather, they are in decline and stagnation.  I attribute the spiritual vitality of the church to the good grace of God, fleshed out through a tremendous interim pastor (who wouldn’t want to be named) who, along with a determined leadership team, developed an 18-month ministry plan to keep the church functioning and purposeful during whatever transition period would lay ahead.

I have been so privileged to have been led by God to this church family.  I truly feel as if I have been able to knit my heart with many of them already.  Although we don’t know for sure what Sunday will bring, we continue to live by faith and hope in the Gospel of Jesus Christ, not our desires or plans.

Thank you so much to all of you who have been praying for us these months on our “homeless tour.”  We have such wonderful memories of people and places along the way.  I would ask everyone to please remember us before the throne of grace this Sunday as Heather Hills votes to call me as their next pastor.  This will take place at 10:45 a.m. EST.  I’ll be sure to give an update here, regardless of the outcome.  There is so much to tell you since my last article at Niagara Falls. 

God is good!!!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joe Roof on July 23, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Praise the Lord! I have been praying for you and your family. It will be exciting to see what God will do through you, your family, and church family there in IN.

    Reply

  2. Brian,

    I’m from Greenfield, IN, on the east side, and every time I’m “home,” the neediness of that region breaks my heart. Yes, there are lots of churches in the Indy area, but I still see a big need and lots of blindness covered with conservative values.

    May God use you to shine light in IN!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Joy Wagner on July 24, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Finally! The suspense has been killing me!
    I’ve been praying for you and will continue to. Did you get my FB reply?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

