New Sermon Online!

Our Featured Sermon Last Sunday, April 13, 2008 
Sunday Service
Brian McCrorie

A Secret Worth SharingPlay!Download!
A total of 78 sermons are freely available from Red Rocks Baptist Church

One response to this post.

  1. Great message! I enjoyed how you addressed some very relevant concerns and causes for stress and dissatisfaction and then narrowed the focus to personal struggles and dissatisfactions in the introduction. The idea of struggling with God’s sovereignty resonated well with me this week. I often find myself struggling with God’s sovereignty in my life, not insofar as I doubt the empirical/theological sovereignty of God (i.e. God knows my struggle), but I often find my self doubting the emotional/personal sovereignty of God (i.e. God cares and will act in my behalf). I don’t know how many times I have told people, “God knows exactly what you are going through right now” or “God is using this in your life” and found that it had little to no effect on them. I find that most Christians don’t really doubt that God is sovereign in the sense that He controls all things and is working in our lives, but most Christians question God’s love in His sovereignty. In other words, I rarely find myself asking “CAN God lead me through this valley” and more often find myself asking “WILL He lead me through this valley?” Jesus confronted this struggle on many occasions. On one occasion, when teaching concerning prayer, Christ told his disciple to pray, not because God can answer prayer, but because God wants to answer prayer (“Which of you, if your child asks for bread will give to him a stone…?”). The same goes for the parable of the widow and the unjust judge. The widow does not question the judge’s sovereignty or ability to grant the request, she, rather, doubts the judge’s love and goodness. In summary Jesus indicates that if this evil judge will answer a persistent petitioner, how much more a good God? Jeremiah (29:11-14) does not question if God COULD deliver Israel from captivity, but if He WOULD. Our struggle with God’s sovereignty seems to be rooted in doubts of God’s loving and caring character. My personal struggle with biblical contentment is often a battle to reclaim the belief in the goodness of God while maintaining the greatness of God, His sovereignty tempered with His love. Thanks for your reminder to find my satisfaction in Christ this week and to reject the unholy thoughts of dissatisfaction in what our God provides!

    PS – Sorry about all the random thoughts…just me using some personal growth lessons in my life recently along with the applications in your sermon and how they applied to me. Keep up the great work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

