An Update

There are literally hundreds of churches looking for pastors.  It is really sad.  I had no idea there was such a dearth of church leadership in our country.  Of course, many of these men are retiring about a long tenure of leading their church.  Some, however, are leaving over moral failures.

I have been a bit particular here at the beginning where I send my resume.  I am completely dependent on the Lord’s leading through this process but am also trying to think clearly and practically as well.  I am primarily sending my resume to Baptist or Bible churches that have a philosophy of ministry I identify with.  I am also looking primarily for churches that employ blended worship, a mix of the old and new.  I am looking for churches whose members appear to be actively engaged in ministry, where prayer is prominent, where love is the prevailing spirit.  Obviously, I am not considering churches whose doctrinal statement would conflict with my understanding of Scripture.  I am also not looking for churches embroiled in conflict over matters of opinion like Bible translations, etc.

So far, I have contacted 14 churches directly, stretching from California to Virginia to Florida to Massachusetts.  Of these 14, two are no longer in consideration.  I am praying daily for the leadership and search teams in the remaining 12 churches that God will give clear direction to both of us.  I have also posted my resume on several websites including www.churchjobs.net, www.churchstaffing.com, and www.pastorfinder.com

In this period of waiting on the Lord, I am doing all I can do to be as prepared as possible for my new church family.  I am doing a great deal of reading and reviewing, both in areas of church leadership as well as in general biblical studies.  Of course, I am also striving to be faithful in my current ministry and preparing here for a smooth transition.

I have received literally hundreds of pieces of encouragement, from my church family and from you all around the country.  Thanks for that!  It is both a blessing and an affirmation to us. 

Ten and a half weeks to go!  Keep praying for us!

5 responses to this post.

  1. As I said, we are praying for you. We know that whatever church the Lord prepares for you will be tremendously blessed by you and your family and your ministry!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Joy Wagner on March 14, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    I have heard that Jay and Josh and Jerry (imagine that combination)are having a great learning time at 9 Marks Conference in D.C. They are learning about elders and hearing/observing 9 Marks philosophy of elders. Maybe when they get back, you could pick their brains about what they learned. One of the things they did was to observe during a 5 hour elder meeting (I thought ours were long!) Another thing was that they watched a 3 hour accountability meeting with their intern. I’ve never had that kind of acct. in my life much less as a college kid. Anyway, you might be able to skim some cream off their full cup.

    Reply

  3. Thanks, Joy. I’ll definitely follow up with them.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Patricia Beach on April 1, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Brian,
    Waiting is never easy; however, we know “…those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.” Isa.40:31 I continue to pray for you and your family-may the Lord give you wisdom, strength, and assure you of His presence daily as you stay in His perfect will. God bless you as you wait! Pat Beach

    Reply

  5. Posted by Patricia Beach on April 10, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Brian,
    Yes, waiting is never easy-I just learned my mother is now number 8 from the top of the list to get in a nursing home near where I live; she was number 40 so that is progress-I finally got real peace re. this as I submitted to His complete will for me and the future. The Lord knows, His timing is perfect-I continue to pray for all of you regarding His field of service and His time! The Lord is good, always! from Pat

    Reply

Leave a Reply

