Who Am I?

When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers,
   the moon and the stars, which you have set in place,
what is man that you are mindful of him,
   and the son of man that you care for him?
Psalm 8:3-4, ESV

I recently had the opportunity to hear Louie Giglio speak on the subject “How Great Is Our God.”  This was the first time I had ever heard Louie speak in person and I was captivated by the imagery he used and the way he showed Scripture to be both real and relevant.  To meditate on the greatness of God is beyond my comprehension.  It makes me say both “WOW!” and “WOE is me!”  But we do expect a God to be great, don’t we?  Even though the creative power and majesty of God is mind-blowing, it would be a huge letdown to think that our God was not great and mighty.

I recently showed the DVD of Louie’s presentation to our secondary school in chapel.  Many of the students left the room that day in tears.  Despite the wonderful teaching of our speakers in chapel, that’s a bit unusual.  They weren’t crying because they had been exposed to the greatness of God.  They were crying because they were forced to come face-to-face with the reality that the Almighty God, Creator of Stars, really does love them, as insignificant as they are.

And so, I want to start off this brief autobiography in exactly the same way that David did in the Psalm referenced earlier.

1. I am a creation of God, constantly amazed that He loves me and calls me His friend.  I am shocked that He made me in His image–shocked because I am so unlike Him in my sinfulness.  I am daily left speechless because of His daily renewing mercy toward me.  I am tremendously humbled that He put me into the ministry.  I am an avid student of His Word, which gives me life and purpose.  I am dedicated to His worship in all of my life with all of my being.  I am not ashamed to be His son, and I am not ashamed of His Gospel.

2. I am a husband, father, brother, brother-in-law, son, uncle and cousin.  My human family is very important to me.  My parents, through their example, led me to know Christ and want to serve Christ.  My relationship with my sisters gave me invaluable experience into camaraderie and conflict resolution.  My extended family through marriage has demonstrated to me the profound impact that acceptance and “adoption” can have in a person’s life.  My children bring me deep joy and help me understand in a small way the intimate relationship that God desires to have with me.  They also compel me to see the importance of discipleship and responsibility.  My wife is my life partner.  I can’t imagine life without her support, love, and strong sense of family.  She works as hard as I do in every area of life, and even harder in some areas!

3. I am a minister of God.  I say that with no pride but with absolute certainty.  It was God who placed the desire to pastor in my heart.  It was God who gifted me to teach His Word.  It was God who has led in my life to prepare me and sustain me in this calling.  When I stand in a pulpit and speak to people about God, I am confident in the message I am giving.  The message is not mine and I must never make it about me and my opinions.  I speak on His behalf with His words to His people.  It is an awesome privilege.  And then, beyond the pulpit, to serve with like-minded followers of Christ on a daily basis in administration, discipleship, and community-building–there is little as satisfying in life to me.

4. I am a citizen of two worlds.  As a heavenly citizen, I seek to live my life in accordance with the principles of God’s Word.  I follow higher laws than those on earth.  The law of love for my neighbor motivates me to give to those in need, to shine the light of the Gospel in my culture, and to stimulate good works in others.  As an earthly citizen, I obey and submit to my leaders, whom I recognize as God-appointed ministers to me.  I pray for those in charge and seek to build relationships with them that will bring them into the kingdom of God as well.  I oppose laws and ideologies that are contrary to the clear mandates of Scripture.  I pay my taxes!

5. I am a human being.  I love to travel and see the beauty of the world my Father created.  I enjoy communication with others, both in person and through electronic means, including blogging!  I like to appreciate and participate in the musical arts.  I even dabble in the culinary arts!  I enjoy playing games of all kinds, watching great movies, eating Philly cheese steaks, reading a good biography, cuddling with my family, keeping up on the news, learning new technologies, and mastering trivia.

The most important thing to know about me though is that I am a follower of Jesus Christ. He paid the ultimate price with His life on a cross to give me forgiveness and peace.  He rose from the dead to give me eternal life.  He put His Spirit within me to teach me and challenge me in my spiritual walk.  All that I am is because of all that He has done.  I am His.

Leave a Reply

