I Support CCM!

That’s right!  You read correctly.  After thinking through things for many years now, I have come to the conclusion that CCM is a movement that I not only want to support but also promote.  So many of the narrow-minded arguments that people have used against movements like CCM just do not hold any water and I refuse to tolerate them anymore.  I plan to work actively to support CCM and its leaders, not just here in Denver but also around the country.  Movements like CCM can wield enormous influence and it’s time we come together for a common cause, despite our differences.

jontom-copy.jpg Okay, now for those who are still reading, I’ll admit that I am having a bit of fun at my readers’ expense.  Most of my fundamental and evangelical Christian readers will know that CCM often stands for Contemporary Christian Music, a movement that uses popular musical styles with a Christian message to reach the unsaved with the Gospel.  I am opposed to that movement on philosophical and theological grounds.  It has become entirely too commercial, and the overwhelming majority of the artists in the movement are extraordinarily worldly in their performance, lifestyle, and worldview.  Having said that, I do enjoy the ministry of a very limited number of musicians who would fall under the category of CCM.

But the CCM I am enthusiastically supporting today is a new movement called Coalition for a Conservative Majority.  It was founded in November of 2007 by former House Majority Leader Tom Delay for the purpose of rebuilding a coalition from a very fractured group of social, fiscal, and security conservatives.

Last night, I met Tom Delay (see picture above with my son Jon) and the chairman of this new coalition, Ken Blackwell.  Tom Delay is probably the most vilified political figure in recent years.  I would note that not a single charge against him has ever been proven in a court of law.  Of course, when the media says something over and over, the public’s perception is often influenced.  Tom is a Christian brother in Christ.  He has an amazing testimony, having lived a pretty worldly life before accepting Christ in 1985.  He told me last night that after he left Congress in 2005 amid all the allegations against him, he spent about five weeks on his knees every day trying to determine what God would have him do next.  The last he wanted to do was stay in politics.  However, he determined that God wanted him to stay involved in that arena and promote the values that he had embraced as a Christian and a conservative, especially in the areas of life, marriage, and religious freedom. 

Ken Blackburn is an amazing thinker and a dedicated conservative.  Just Google his name and you will be impressed by his life’s work for the conservative cause.   He is the Senior Fellow for Family Empowerment at the Family Research Council, the Ronald Reagan Distinguished Fellow for Public Policy at the Buckeye Institute in Columbus, Ohio, a member of the Club for Growth’s Leadership Council, serves on the Board of Directors for the National Taxpayers Union and a member of the National Rifle Association’s Public Affairs Committee. He is a columnist for the New York Sun, a contributing editor and columnist for the conservative news and opinion site Townhall.com, and a public affairs commentator for the Salem Radio Network.  And that is just a small portion of his resume.

These two men hope to establish CCM chapters in all 50 states over the next 5 years.  Their goal: to counter the enormous, well-organized, and well-funded political machine the liberals have built over the last 7 years.  Tom made some excellent points in his remarks last night about the decline in effective conservative coalition, specifically in the area of communications.  Having been involved in politics at the grassroots level now for about ten years, I am skeptical about new organizations and movements.  However, this is not a fly-by-night, off-the-cuff endeavor.  These men have been planning and thinking about this for over a decade.  It is a serious, long-term movement that you will begin to hear about soon.

From the initial founding of CCM chapters in 9 media markets, the organization hopes to influence the outcome of elections by the propagation of ideas, conservative ideas, through their activists.  They do not and can not endorse candidates, but they do hope to have an impact on the nearly 511,000 elected officials in the United States.  Tom said last night that the conservative movement has not had a real coalition since the Christian Coalition led by Ralph Reed.  Many of our organizations are singular in their focus and rarely team up with other conservative groups for common causes.  That has hurt the movement.  On the other hand, the “left” has created numerous coalitions over the last several years for the promotion of every liberal ideal.  And as the nation witnessed in 2006, that mobilization of citizens impacted and changed the political weight of power, not only in Washington, D. C., but also in many state, county, and local governments.

While I am committed to the biblical concept that the Church is the hope of the world through the spreading of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, I am also committed to the biblical concept that civil government is ordained of God and its leaders are ministers of God.  I believe in responsible and active citizenship to shine light on values that are not only conservative but consistent with my Christian beliefs.  Anyone who knows me knows that I spend the vast majority of my time working for the success of the Church.  However, I also enjoy the opportunity, on occasion, to work for the success of the conservative movement.  CCM is the kind of organization I can get excited about helping and promoting.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by j.jones on February 27, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Wow, you really had me scared! I was relieved to hear that you only want to invade Iran (which might cause WWIII) and continue the astronomical deficit spending which might bankrupt this country yet. That’s no big deal. I thought your post was something seriously wrong and evil such as you condoned someone going to a Steve Green concert. You were just funnin’ with us.

    Reply

  2. Posted by j.jones on February 27, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    By the way, on many things I agree with Delay. But on foreign policy I am not as gung-ho to go to war, for different reasons, as the majority of the seemingly sycophantic Republican party seems to be.

    Reply

  3. I think if Iran continues to develop a nuclear program or if they attack Israel (which they clearly intend to do), then that would not only justify but necessitate a military response from the United States.

    By the way, I have attended Steve Green concerts and enjoyed them immensely. Steve is a serious student of the Word and always approaches his concerts as a worship service.

    Reply

  4. Posted by j.jones on February 28, 2008 at 9:19 am

    BMac, what do you think of Delay’s rabid support of Israel? He appears to be basing some (or most ) of this support of Israel on his view of the church in the Bible. Do you think you’re in the minority supporting a guy like this? As more and more Christians reject dispensationalism and reject Israel as having any Biblical significance, your view is becoming more and more on the fringe for supporting a guy like that.

    Reply

  5. Posted by j.jones on February 28, 2008 at 9:43 am

    BTW, I’m not saying that I favor not supporting Israel. Actually, I am a dispensationalist. But from my personal anecdotal world, dispensationalism is losing ground in fundamentalism and therefore views like Delay’s ardent support of Israel would tend to be viewed not necessarily favorably.

    Reply

  6. I really don’t care if I’m in the minority on anything as long as I am convinced of its truth. I am a dispensationalist and believe that Israel has a distinct future. I don’t think dispensationalism has all the answers and I am definitely more in the progressive dispensational camp, but I think it’s the best approach to Scripture and eschatology. So, yes, I think we should support Israel as our ally and also as God’s special nation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

