Random Thoughts

Hey everybody!

I took a brief hiatus from blogging to concentrate on other things that are important to me.  As much as I enjoy blogging and the bantering of ideas, I realize as much as anyone else that it takes TIME.  I am not one of those who believe that blogging is a waste of time; I do, however, know it can be.

So, allow me a post to catch up on stuff.  I intend to write more regularly through the year, and look forward to our conversations.

On the 6th anniversary of September 11, 2001:
I looked at the pictures again yesterday.  They are still shocking and unsettling.  They still angered me.  Those terrible, grim digital images of planes and fire and terror are not easy to view, even now.  But life goes on.  God is still on the throne.  People still need the Gospel.  There is work to do.

On the death of Luciano Pavarotti:
I had the opportunity once to see Pavarotti in New York City.  I didn’t take it.  I regret that decision.  There are few people in the world outside one’s own family and circle of friends who can really touch a soul.  He could do that to me.  I do not generally enjoy opera.  It is something I discipline myself to listen to.  The music is often lovely but I have difficulty listening to music in languages I do not understand.  That being said, Pavarotti’s voice or rather the passion in his voice could always transcend that barrier and reach my soul.  I am so grateful for the ability to capture great performances through so many digital mediums now.  Pavarotti may be gone, but he has left behind dozens of hours of magnificence.

On the passing of Dr. D. James Kennedy:
I’m not sure what Dr. Kennedy will be remembered most for, but he has run an admirable race for the Lord.  He was married for 51 years.  He pastored for 48 years.  Forty years ago, he ran the first Evangelism Explosion clinic.  Last year, 5 million people were led to Christ through this program.  He was a student of theology with M.Div, Th. M., and Ph. D. degrees.  He had a television and radio audience of over 3 million people.  While I did not and do not share his views on eschatology or political activism, he did much to further the cause of Christ.  I am honored to be his spiritual brother.

On the current political climate:
I am personally encouraged by a number of things.  First, I am encouraged because I don’t listen to liberal media.  Second, I am encouraged by the consistency of our President, despite the polls.  Third, I am encouraged by the number of good candidates vying for the Republican nomination, especially my favorite, Mike Huckabee.  Fourth, I am encouraged by the excellent work of our military and intelligence services, protecting us and championing liberty around the world.  Fifth, I am encouraged that the executive branch is finally coming up with a realistic game plan for dealing with Iran.  I wish we would do more in the Sudan.  Sixth, I am encouraged by the election of a conservative French president!

On ministry:
I absolutely love the ministry!  I just finished my 20th year of ministry, which began when a very nervous yet very determined 15-year-old preached his first sermon.  Dealing with people is never roses and caviar and I am beginning to understand more why so many older believers become jaded in their view of and participation in the life of the church.  It is hard, dirty work.   At times, though, it is unbelievable rewarding.  I have experienced such a month.  I can’t believe the sacrifice and dedication that so many people in my church give to the Lord on a weekly basis.  They work long hours and have many distractions, but they are determined followers of Christ.  We have had some wonderful times of fellowship and growth in recent weeks.

On the fragility of life:
I have had several reminders this month of the fragile nature of our life.   It seems that this last month, in particular, has been full of news stories of the abuse and murder of humans made in the image of God.  It sickens me.  It wearies me.  It makes me long for a temple not made with hands.  The most personal event of the month happened on the evening of Monday, September 3rd, when a drunk driver hit our vehicle in the rear as we were stopped at a light at a busy intersection.  Fortunately, no one was injured.  Every precious member of my family was in our van.  I take God’s protection for granted.  Far too often.

On Facebook:
One pleasant new tool I have enjoyed over the last few months is Facebook.  It is a daily reminder to me of all the wonderful people with whom I have brushed shoulders in my life.  It’s amazing to read where people are and what they are doing.  It’s great to renew friendships and make new ones too!  If you’re not on my friend list yet, send me a request.  I definitely want to stay in touch.  I even started a group on Facebook for all the people with “McCrorie” as a last name.  Now I have met and become friends with McCrories in Ireland, England, New Zealand, Australia, Italy, and other places.  Incredible!

On the Blogosphere:
I have missed the interaction with my online friends.  I have read so many great articles.  You all keep my mind stimulated.  Thanks!  See you soon.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Glad you and the family are doing so well! 🙂 Have missed your blog posts, too! Hope we can see you all sometime soon!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Bob Bixby on September 12, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    Welcome back.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ellis Murphree on September 12, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    Good to see you back, Brian.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

