CD Review: Reflections on a Journey

cd-2.jpgRecently, I had the privilege to review a new CD by pianist Greg Howlett, Reflections on a Journey.  I use the word privilege intentionally because this recording was a real joy to hear.  As a music pastor, I receive numerous samples of music and recordings in any given year; and, I must admit, I don’t often look forward to the time it takes to review what is mostly average or below average quality work.

However, with Reflections on a Journey, I took a journey myself.  When I was nine years old, I started piano lessons with Mr. Stanfield.  I can’t even remember his first name because he was always “Mr. Stanfield” to me.  He wasn’t the most advanced or educated teacher I have had, but he had more “heart” in his fingers than just about anyone I have ever heard or met.  He was very good though–don’t get me wrong!  Mr. Stanfield would sit at the piano in our church auditorium in Indianapolis, Indiana, and create a texture of music that always seemed to express the hymn in just the right way.

It’s been many years since Mr. Stanfield and I parted ways and I have been a piano teacher myself now.  Though I can dazzle people with technique and ability, it is always the more mellow and familiar sounds that seem to impact my listeners.

Greg Howlett has that ability–to touch the strings of your heart–with his beautiful recording.  Accompanied by the Nashville String Machine orchestra and a talented chorus, Greg has taken ten familiar songs and created a musical masterpiece along with orchestrator Steve Mauldin that you will want in your home library and church bookstore.

You can listen to samples by clicking here.

You can order the CD, watch a Behind the Scenes video, and learn more about Greg at: www.greghowlett.com.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hey, Brian. It’s Bob Stanfield.

    Thanks for the review!

    Reply

  2. Oh, man, Richard beat me to it! Mr. Stanfield is in the hospital right now, not doing very well.

    I always enjoy hearing you play ~ I miss it! 🙂 When is your recording coming out???? Hmmmmm?????

    Reply

  3. Posted by Joey on August 14, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    Mr. Stanfield died last night, August 13. He will be missed by many former students.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

