I’m back!

brianathens.jpgWell, after about 25 hours in airports and airplanes, our group finally landed on U.S. soil on Tuesday afternoon.  As anyone who travels outside our country knows, it is always good to get back home.  Things are fun to see and experience in foreign places, but the United States is such a wonderful land of promise and opportunity, even with all our flaws.

Our 14-day trip took us to cities in Italy and Greece and even a stop in Asia at Ephesus.  There is so much to share about the trip and I plan on writing a few articles about it in the days to come.  I did take the time for some spiritual reflection and want to share that as well.

All that said, it is great to be home.  I’m taking a few days “off” the Internet to get reacquainted with my family and caught up at work.  I look forward to sharing with you some of the beautiful and interesting locations I was privileged to visit.  Until then!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on June 15, 2007 at 8:03 am

    Brian,

    Glad your home and that your trip went well. I’m looking forward to reading your comments on the trip as well as see some of your photos.

    Reply

  2. Ephesus in Turkey.

    I was just there earlier this year.

    And I am ready to go back to that incredible country.

    May the gospel triumph once again for the sake of His name.

    et

    Reply

  3. Posted by Bruce C. on June 15, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    You were gone?!?!?! 🙂
    Glad you had great and safe trip Brian. Looking forward to more posts about it!

    Reply

  4. Welcome home, hope you had a great Father’s Day with your family! 🙂

    Reply

  5. As someone who is very interested in NT Studies, after taking that trip, how has it impacted your Bible reading of NT passages of places where you have actually been?

    I have heard others say that once they have been to Israel and places like Ephesus and Thessalonica, etc. that it totally changes their Bible reading perspective.

    Reply

  6. Terry,

    I’m working on an article for SI that sort of does what you are asking. On this trip, being in Athens, Patmos and Ephesus, helped to connect some dots for me in my understanding of Scripture and also raised some new questions I hadn’t thought through from a historical perspective. Maybe you’ll find the article helpful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

