Resurrection Sunday: the true story

snowcity.gif“We want to welcome you this morning to the North Pole!  Take out your hymnals and turn to ‘Jingle Bells’!”

That is the way I wanted to start the service yesterday morning.  By 10 AM, a heavy snow was falling in metro Denver and a major accident had just occurred outside our church entrance.  It was more like a winter wonderland than a spring meadow!

Nevertheless, we had another great crowd of first-time visitors at Red Rocks for Easter Sunday.  Our church choir and orchestra ministered through “Who Is This King?” a magnificent musical program put together by two amazing guys, Lloyd Larson and Joseph Martin.  It was probably the most excellent and moving program we have done in my time here at Red Rocks.  The musicians worked really hard to communicate the message of each song.  I was so proud of them!

Pastor Heinze finished up the service with a simple Gospel presentation.  Eleven souls decided to become followers of Jesus Christ.  Praise God!

Even though we all tend to make Easter one of the “big” services of the year, I have been challenged over the past couple years with the fact that, really, every Sunday is a celebration of the resurrection.  Right?  That’s why we gather on the first day of the week.  I try to remind our congregation of that periodically.  I know that for me personally, when I approach the leading of worship from that perspective, it always gives me a Gospel-centered focus in what I say and how I lead our people into God’s presence.  The celebration of eternal life should be ever new in the Christian life.  We don’t get eternal life when we get to heaven–we have it right now!  So, let’s celebrate it and share it!

I trust that all of you had a wonderful Easter Sunday and that God was honored through the magnifying of Christ.  HE IS RISEN!!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on April 9, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    Hi Brian,

    Sorry to hear of the accident. I trust it wasn’t anyone coming or going from you services. Now that I’ve been to the new church building and have experienced a service for myself, I wish I could have been there to enjoy the good music and preaching. Our services here in Canada went well and we a one visiting family with three teenagers. I don’t know if they’ll return as they are considering starting a “house church” in their home. We’ll wait and see if they return next week. Thanks for the good report on the spiritual progress at Red Rocks. Have a great day, Dad

    Reply

  2. Posted by Bev R on April 10, 2007 at 6:03 am

    He has risen indeed!

    Reply

  3. We saw you all got dumped on over Easter! Glad that you had good services regardless! God is good! We miss you all!

    Reply

  4. Dad,

    I did hear this morning that one of the parties involved in the accident were people coming to visit our church. There was a fatality involved in the accident as well which is really sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

