Bowing Down Meets Mike Huckabee

huckabee.gifThis afternoon, I was able to participate in a media conference call with presidential hopeful Mike Huckabee and Governor Mike Rounds of South Dakota.  I had the opportunity to ask Mike a question.  I asked him how he would distinguish himself from Governor Mitt Romney of Massachusetts.  My reasons for asking him about Romney specifically are based on the following:

  1. I would hope that the Republican base would reject Giuliani based on his positions on social issues.
  2. With regard to McCain, Hunter, Thompson, Tancredo, and even Gingrich, I think ultimately the public will reject them because of their Washington connection.  The public is not happy with Congress, even more so than their opinion of President Bush.
  3. That leaves, in my mind, Romney and Huckabee.
  4. Romney is obviously a first-tier candidate and is getting national endorsements and raising big money.
  5. However, in the latest Iowa polling of GOP county chairs, it is Romney and Huckabee who hold the lead.

That’s why I asked the question.  Mike began by saying that Governor Romney is a friend and former colleague and that he wouldn’t want to say anything negative about him.  He then went on to answer my question directly.  You can listen to his response by clicking here: huckabee.mp3.  Although he was very careful in his reply, I think he answered well and showed exactly the distinction that I had hoped, especially in regard to his track record on the 2nd Amendment and the Right to Life.

What are your thought? 

5 responses to this post.

  1. Too bad this is a big money game so early!

    Reply

  2. In my opinion, the public exposure is more important than the money right now. There are three public debates between the candidates coming up in the next couple months. That will help. Iowa will make a huge difference in who goes on with any momentum.

    Reply

  3. I don’t think he is going to top Romney, friend. But you might have me eating spuds when this is all over. 🙂

    For intelligence alone, Gingrich might be the sharpest.

    Reply

  4. Nobody knows for sure, that’s for sure. 😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by Bev R on April 8, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    I happened upon your website some months ago and have enjoyed it since!
    You’ve gotten me to take a good look at Huckabee- a name I hadn’t considered- and even have me praying for God to help out the “little guy” in this race. 🙂
    Thank You for the time you put into this!
    He has risen! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

