My Triumphant Return to Blogging

(Fanfare, please.)

After over a month of Internet absenteeism, I am back!

(Applause!)

The rumors surrounding my death have been greatly exaggerated.

(Sigh of relief!)

Of course, there could be a myriad of reasons for my inter-cyber silence.  I could have run out of things to say.  (Actually, I did that a long time ago!)  I could have taken a South African sabbatical.  I could have been in a coma from pushing the old lady out of the path of oncoming traffic, taking the brunt of the collision myself.  I could have taken up knitting.

But no, dear friends, nothing so noble and captivating precluded my blogging–only real life.  For the past month, I have been too busy to blog.

(GASP!)

“What!” you say, “too busy to blog!”  Indeed.  While that may shock some of you, I actually do have a life outside the computer keyboard.  In fact, despite my prolific postings at venerable sites around the Net, I actually had little desire to blog during this time.

Why?  Because I was engaged in something so wonderfully fulfilling, so powerfully purposeful that blogging rarely even entered my mind.  What object on earth has such power, you ask?

My church.

Red Rocks Baptist Church

After 8 years of planning, waiting, building, and moving, Red Rocks Baptist Church held its grand opening at our new Morrison campus on March 25th.  God did some remarkable things through the whole transition time.  First, He took me to the point of exhaustion, then just a little further.  Whatever dedication I lacked to my local assembly prior to the completion of this building, I no longer lack.  It requires my full attention, just as full as the attention I give my family.  And trust me, there were many people who worked harder than I.  They were inspirational.

God allowed a church of 400 to reach over a thousand at Grand Opening.  To be honest, while it was exciting to lead the worship of such a group, we sort of expected it.  I mean, we worked hard on letting our community know about this day.  They came.  And, we’re not really into numbers.  I mean, it’s great to see a full church, but a full church wasn’t the real blessing of the day.

God used the worship of His church and the witness of His Word to save 59 people that day.  While it’s not Pentecost, that sort of response to the Gospel has not been common, at least in our church.  While our attendance dipped a bit the second week, God saved another 22 people yesterday after another presentation of the work of Jesus Christ.  This is exciting!  More exciting than blogging.

So, dear reader, lest you think I abandoned the medium, I am back.  I did miss the fellowship, the sharpening, the focus on spiritual issues.   I am looking forward to fresh conversations that edify us all.

And if I seem a bit distracted certain days, you’ll understand why.  We’ve got a spiritual nursery full of newborns.  They all need love.  They all need the milk of the Word.  And they’re all crying.

Pray for us.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Brian: [God used the worship of His church and the witness of His Word to save 59 people that day. While it’s not Pentecost, that sort of response to the Gospel has not been common, at least in our church. While our attendance dipped a bit the second week, God saved another 22 people yesterday after another presentation of the work of Jesus Christ.]

    tjp: Brian, this sounds like pure, unadulterated FINNEYISM. How dare you use a new building, and all the trappings that go along with it, to entice sinners into hearing the gospel! Know you no shame! How utterly carnal!!! You better hope the Cals don’t hear about your “NEW MEASURES.”

    Glad to hear of all the conversions. Sounds wonderful.

    May God continue to work among you.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Brad Jury on April 3, 2007 at 6:42 am

    Brian,

    We praise the Lord with you all! Jennifer and I were in prayer throughout the 25th of March and since then. What a wonderful report! I’m sure that it was quite an undertaking from a human standpoint, but praise the Lord for His sustaining hand of grace that made it all eternal.

    RRBC continues in our prayers as these new disciples will grow in the grace and knowledge of Jesus Christ through the ministry of so many faithful undershepherds.

    Reply

  3. That is WONDERFUL to hear! So glad God blessed in this new venture with the church!! Praying it continues! Have missed reading your blog, but happy to hear it was for a good cause! 🙂 Please tell the family hello from us!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

