The Powers That Be

jasonprez2.jpgAs many of my readers know, I am an active participant in the political process.  I do spend a great deal of time during election seasons campaigning for the candidates I support.  This season was no different.  In fact, for the first time in my life, as I looked at the touchscreen in front of me in the polling booth, I was pleasantly surprised to realize that I knew each of the candidates personally for whom I was about to vote.  They have become my friends.

The election season gives opportunities for citizens to interact with leaders in their community who are striving for political office.  Most of these extraordinary people do not know Christ as Savior.  This election, two of my “friends” were born-again Christians which made the fellowship extra special.  I try as hard as I can to show Christ through my words and my life to these friends.

Sometimes, there are opportunities to interact with really extraordinary people.  My family had such an experience last Saturday when we were able to be up-close-and-personal with the President of the United States!  It was a thrill to expose my children to a man I believe to be a great leader in our country.  Even my three-year-old Jason (pictured above) enjoyed shaking President Bush’s hand!

Then came Tuesday.

In a few short hours, the men with whom I had toiled in the last several months began to lose, one-by-one.  I felt their pain.  They were remarkably gracious in their concession speeches, considering the level of negative advertising in recent days.  They move on.

So must we.

Paul must have dreaded Roman elections.  It seems from a historical perspective that quite a long string of Caesars held tremendous opposition to the Christians and their way of life and worship.  He would, in fact, die at the hands of such a ruler.  And yet, he gives us a remarkable exhortation:

Let every soul be subject unto the higher powers. For there is no power but of God: the powers that be are ordained of God. Whosoever therefore resisteth the power, resisteth the ordinance of God: and they that resist shall receive to themselves damnation.

I have to admit: I don’t like thinking of Nancy Pelosi as a minister of God.  But she is.  I shudder to think of the activities of the 110th Congress.  From impeachments to higher taxes to universal health care–the agenda will go against every political grain in my heart.  But God calls me to submit, to obey, these new leaders in my state, in my country, despite the significant differences we have.

Am I saddened? Sure I am.  As I write this, I am receiving word that Donald Rumsfeld, the Secretary of Defense will resign.  I think he has been a terrific leader.  But it’s time for him to move on.  Times of celebration will come again in the future.  Now, however, is the time for introspection.

My Republican Party has embraced a “big tent” philosophy in recent years that I believe needs to be reevaluated.  I don’t think people like the “Governator” belong in my Party.  Republicans always have and always should remain pro-life.  It is one of the most significant distinctions between us and the Dems…at least it used to be.  I was reading in my local newspaper this morning in a story about our governor-elect, Bill Ritter, a democrat who’s also pro-life.  I was shocked to read a statement from the Democratic leader in the statehouse saying that “the Democratic Party is a ‘big tent’ Party.”  I sighed.

There is a conservative base in our country that is strong and well.  They’re just a bit…disillusioned, and rightly so.  In our state, we passed a marriage amendment to our constitution, rejected same-sex unions, and rejected the legalization of marijuana.  Republicans won all the major state leadership positions, except one, the governor’s office.  I kept asking myself last night “Why?”

I spent 13 hours yesterday as an election judge in my precinct.  Out of 1167 registered voters in our precinct, only just over 400 of them voted, either by absentee ballot, early voting, or in-person.  People are fed up.  They believe their Party has left them.  I disagree.  I think the Party has become more inclusive, to their detriment.  That inclusiveness has diluted the definition of the Party itself.  People are uncertain where the Party stands or will stand on a given issue.  It must do some soul-searching; I think it will.

In the meantime, life goes on and…back to normal, thankfully!  Our salvation is not in government and must never be.  As citizens however, we have a wonderful freedom in our country to effect change…one we must not take for granted or neglect to our own detriment.  These new leaders, like-it-or-not, are our leaders, appointed by God Himself.  They deserve our respect and submission.

Now, I have new friends to make…

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bessie on November 8, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    Thanks for your thoughts!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dan on November 8, 2006 at 3:52 pm

    Good words, Brian. I have to keep reminding myself, that politics is a game. Ministry is a journey.

    Reply

  3. Sir, as always your devotion is inspiring. And it is nice to know that I can associate with your politics as well, making your posts all the easier to read 😉

    Reply

  4. Finally out of lurking! 🙂 Very belated thanks for the blogroll placement

    Know how you feel about the folks you campaign for losing (i.e. WY has overwhelmingly re-elected a Dem. Governor except not pro-life like his competitor). Our pro-life Wyoming voice in the House has, for the time, narrowly won re-election. How can it be in “Red” Wyoming???

    Thanks for your thoughts and reminder of the spirit we as Christians need to have, no matter who is in power.

    Reply

  5. […] Brian McCrorie has  posted some good thoughts on a Biblical response to the election results. He even touches on the need for a conservative response to tear down the “big tent.” […]

    Reply

  6. […] I pinged this post last November, but it’s worth pinging again. It comes from a pastor/blogger in Denver, CO. Let me go ahead and give the quote to watch for: My Republican Party has embraced a “big tent” philosophy in recent years that I believe needs to be reevaluated.  I don’t think people like the “Governator” belong in my Party.  Republicans always have and always should remain pro-life.  It is one of the most significant distinctions between us and the Dems…at least it used to be.  I was reading in my local newspaper this morning in a story about our governor-elect, Bill Ritter, a [D]emocrat who’s also pro-life.  I was shocked to read a statement from the Democratic leader in the statehouse saying that “the Democratic Party is a ‘big tent’ Party.”  I sighed. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

