I Give Up!!

writing.gifAfter much persuasion from several of my close friends, I have decided to do it.  I’m going to write a book. 

Blogging has awakened a desire within me to write and express my thinking in a form that can be preserved.  I have resisted the urging of others to write a book for several reasons:

  1. I’m not sure if I have that much to say.
  2. I’m not sure if enough people care what I have to say.
  3. I’m not sure if I have the time to write.

However, I am tired of the constant complaining by myself and other about the lack of fundamental viewpoints in contemporary literature.  If I’m going to wait for someone to write a book from my point of view, I’m probably going to be waiting quite a while.

And I do have something to say.  Whether or not the book is widely accepted or not–whether or not the book is even published–does not concern me as much as that I do the work to refine and preserve my own thinking.

So, now to the practical side of things.  The book will undoubtedly cause some controversy; however, my motive will not be to incite.  The book will be about the worship of God and written from a text-based and expositional viewpoint.  I want to write something that has timeless quality, not just to try to insert my opinions on a given topic of the day.  I want to magnify the Person and Work of Jesus Christ on every page.

I am planning to set aside this Christmas season to write the book.  I have an idea of an outline for the book, but also want to solicit ideas from you.  Whether you post ideas here or email them to me (bmccrorie@rrm.org), I look forward to hearing ideas from you about what should be included in such a tome.  If the book is to be read, I want to include writing on what people want to read about.  What are the biggest questions you have about the worship of God?  What area is the most divisive in Christianity today?  What would be the most practical help I could provide for you and your ministry?  Which topics do you think I should avoid?  What are the best biblical texts you would like to see developed.

My goal is write something that is accessible to a layman in a church who hasn’t necessarily been through the Christian higher educational circuit, while at the same time providing a work that could be used in Bible studies or Christian education.

Well, now that I have created an accountability to this project with my readers, I look forward to your feedback on this project.

8 responses to this post.

  1. If you are going to write, then let it flow from something God has given you a passion or urgency about. You are going to have to know in your heart that God is behind the topic or you will fizzle out. You may want to set aside much more time than over the Christmas holiday.

    Reply

  2. Thanks for the advice, Lou. Of course, quite a bit of the book will come from work I have already done in a number of areas, but I will definitely make sure that I take the amount of time needed to create a quality product. The subject of worship is a passionate part of who I am and what I have given my life to studying and living. So, if the book helps no one else, it will hopefully help me!!

    Reply

  3. Brian,
    Good to hear that you are going to be writing. Writing’s certainly good. I would be interested in the development of the issue of whether in worship we should only worship expressly how God commands (RWP) or do have some liberty (i.e., plays, puppet shows, etc.). And of course your application of major passage in concept.

    I like the concept of a textual based book. There are far too many books based on “what works” or “how to” and not enough on what Scripture teaches and says.

    Maybe outlining the different prescribed content of a worship service (prayer, singing, preaching, etc.) and the relevant Biblical passages and then some of the prevelant views today and why they are not wise.

    Just throwing some ideas out.

    MBS
    Soli Deo Gloria

    Reply

  4. Posted by Josh Larsen on October 7, 2006 at 11:51 pm

    Oh please, please, please write this book. And only use half of a chapter to address the whole rythm debate. I make that request for two reasons:

    1.) I think Garlock and Fisher have done enough writing in that area to solidify the opinions (convictions) of those who agree with them and those who disagree with them. But in that half of a chapter, please debunk – in a once-and-for-all sort of way – the whole notion that the rock beat pictures the sex act.

    2.) There is so much more to be said about worship than what is being said in the fundamentalist music debate. I want to learn more about worship than just music.

    Those are my only requests. And even if you choose to ignore them (a foolish mistake, my friend), I will still buy, read, and appreciate your book.

    Reply

  5. Something on 2 Sam. 6:12-23 (and parallel 1 Chron. 15:25-29) would be good, too. I think the issue of despising someone’s varying worship styles is more serious than many type A fundamentalists would give on.

    Reply

  6. I would agree. In fact, if musical style is a matter of opinion and we separate from others over it, I would say our actions are sinful.

    Reply

  7. My heart really goes out to the unity of the church. That when Christ prayed in John 17, he wasn’t talking about three divisions with 33,000 denominations.

    Reply

  8. I heard that November is national write a novel month. I being totally serious. You have to committ to writing 50,000 words or something like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

