Sometimes We Wait

waiting.gifAs the trial saga of my friends continues on, the waiting game wears long and hard.  It reminded me of a song I sang in our church a few years ago in a time of waiting we were experiencing.  Here are the lyrics of that song to meditate on today:

Did Moses know when the branches spoke he would be the chosen one?
Or did his people know that a cloud of smoke would someday lead them home?
Sometimes God will speak through a bush of flames or pillars in the sky,
But at times His silence fills our days leaving us to wonder “Why?”.

Sometimes we wait, simply to find
Sometimes His answers come with time,
Not right away clearly to see,
Sometimes we never get those parted seas
That lead us from the shore. 
But there is a place
Where we rest in His grace
When sometimes we wait on the Lord.

If I had my way, there would come a day with a never-ending dawn.
No more mournful sighs in the dark of night as I wonder where He’s gone.
I would never see how His mercy reigns beneath a cloudless sky.
There would be no need for healing grace to comfort when we cry.

Sometimes we wait, simply to find
Sometimes His answers come with time,
Not right away clearly to see,
Sometimes we never get those parted seas
That lead us from the shore. 
But there is a place
Where we rest in His grace
When sometimes we wait on the Lord.

CCLI License # 1457814
Words and Music by Tom Grassi
Arranged by Tom Fettke
Published by Lillenas
More info here 

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bruce Countryman on August 7, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    Brian, we are waiting in this long season with you. Keep looking up. Our God is so good.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Brad Jury on August 8, 2006 at 7:56 am

    What a testimony to God’s grace…thank you for increasing my view of Him. We continue in prayer.

    Reply

  3. Just heard this morning that the trial WILL be extended. This is disheartening news for the family, but obviously God’s ways are not our ways. We still trust. We still wait patiently on the Lord. His strength is perfect. His grace is sufficient. His actions are good.

    The trial is scheduled to resume on September 20th. Please don’t forget about this family. Keep them in daily prayers. They will need them every day.

    Reply

  4. Brian,

    I was pleasantly suprised to read your devotional, and join you in prayer for your circumstance that caused you to write the devotional and include a song of mine. I wrote “Sometimes We Wait” back in 2001. My friend Tom Fettke and Lillenas picked it up and God has suprisingly used that song in ways I would have never thought could be possible.

    Anyway, just thank you for including it and again, I pray for your situation.

    Yours & His,

    Tom Grassi

    Reply

  5. Tom,

    Thanks for saying hello and thanks for writing a terrific song! I can’t express strongly enough how your song has been a source of encouragement and hope in dark days for more than a few people. Please know you are welcome here anytime!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Janeice McClean on March 31, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    I heard this song on one of the West Coast Baptist College Choir cd’s, and it’s been a big blessing to me!!!
    The LORD through this song helped me to be patient, have faith and to always rely on Him.
    I’ve been going through a little hard times with my family and school, but I must say there’s never once that I didn’t see the hand of the Lord. He was always there and that’s a blessing.
    There’s been times I felt like God didn’t hear my prayers, times when I was so frustrated, I even took matters in my own hands and I failed myself… But God stepped in, and He pulled me through. And like I’ve said above, there was never one time that the Lord didn’t intervene in my bad and horrific times.
    I hold this line dear- ‘ But there is a place, where we rest in His grace, where sometimes we wait on the Lord’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

