Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

soccerplayer.gifI had the very interesting experience of visiting Body Worlds 2 yesterday at the Denver Museum of Nature and Science.  Body World 2 is an exhibition of human bodies and organs that have been plastinated.  Plastination is an invention of Dr. Gunther von Hagens which stops the decomposition process and preserves human bodies.

How do I describe this exhibit?  Groundbreaking?  Sickening?  Beautiful?  Missional?  Probably all of the above.  There is no possible way for me to describe the physical sight of seeing these bodies without skin and in different depths of dissection and display.  How do you describe seeing the inside of a mother with her unborn baby still in the womb?  How do describe seeing the real lung of a smoker next to the real lung of a healthy human?  How do you describe seeing the skeleton and ligaments of a child?  How do you describe seeing a human body dissected to the level of nerves or arteries alone?  How do you describe the complexity of the human hand?  Or foot?  Or brain?  Or digestive system?

I’ll tell you how.  Fearfully and wonderfully.  How a person can view this display of human remains and not see the Creator behind the creation is totally beyond my comprehension.  The complexity of the human body is a marvel that I have known about and read about since my early years of schooling.  But to stand inches away from the chest cavity of a real man and look at the human heart–THAT is incredible.

At such times of wonder, there is no room or use for my commentary.  It is the work of God and it is amazing.

“For thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them.”

8 responses to this post.

  1. Interesting article Brian. Do you have their web site and if so do you know if they have pictures of what you discribed? It is so true that we who know the Lord and understand his creative ability, do wonder at those who even dare to question God. Have a great day. Always enjoy your thoughts here on bowing down. Dad

    Reply

  2. Hi Dad! Looking forward to seeing you soon! You should be able to click on the text “Body Worlds 2” in the article and be taken to their site.

    Reply

  3. Dude,
    You went to a museam to see all of that? I thought that is why they invented highway crashes! (BTW, my new post on my blog relates directly to you, so check it out)

    Reply

  4. My wife and I loved it for the same reasons you highlight, though it was creepy, especially the one guy who was cut vertically into slices and laid out like a loaf of bread.

    One amusing note: There was a big sign at the entrance severely warning people to not take photos. Anyone caught taking photos, so stated the sign, would be asked to hand over their film and then asked to leave without refund. Apparently, they forgot about cell phone camera, because there were dozens of people taking pictures all through the exhibit. I laughed.

    Fred

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mark on April 22, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Hey, I know you will probaby frown on me or whatever, but I am a non believer, but I just thought I would leave you all a comment. I intend on travelling to Manchester to see the Body Worlds exhibition and I just found it nice the way some of you described the body in terms of God creating it! I know from my studies (I am a Biochemist) that the body is a VERY complicated machine and is a marvel in it’s own right!! My best friend who is a very strong believer in God is coming with me, he is a Med student, and he is always trying to help me see God! But I am happy in the kowledge that I am a good person and that even though I am a non believer that (as my friend says) God will not judge me (if it’s all true) on the Day of reckoning.. Do you all agree? Please dont just disregard my comment as just another ignorant comment about the non existance of God, but look at it from my perspective, My mam died when I was 15 and all my life I have grown up in a bad area, perhaps the worst in Europe! But I have come out of it and Im nearly qualified and Im out of the rut, but no thanks (personally) to any God, but to my own perserverance and hard work! I hope you get this and respond via email if you can.. Many thanks and I hope you all have a glorious day!

    Love
    Mark

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mark on April 22, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    sorry please respond via email

    different-gravy@hotmail.com

    Thank you
    Mark

    Reply

  7. Mark,

    I will certainly email you and hope others will too. Thanks for stopping by the blog and know that you are welcome anytime!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

