Year 15 and counting…

anniversary.gifYesterday, my wife Deborah and I celebrated our 14th wedding anniversary.  It was nice to have Deborah’s parents here to celebrate with us.

My thoughts about my married life thus far:

  1. There is no way I have been married for 14 years!!!
  2. Well, I do have five children–guess it might be that long.
  3. We have moved seven times in 14 years.  I hate moving.
  4. I take far too much for granted concerning my wife.
  5. I am probably better at resolving problems now than I ever have been.
  6. I am also more adept at creating problems than I ever have been.
  7. My wife seems to ALWAYS be doing laundry.  I should probably help out with that.
  8. With three daughters who could marry someday and five upcoming college educations, I am resolved to be poor for the bulk of my life.
  9. My wife is probably the hardest-working woman I know.
  10. The only areas of our marriage which still need work are for her to finally learn how to use the computer and play video games with me!

Okay, seriously now, I can’t complain at all.  My wife works far harder and longer than I ever have or probably will.  She is a dedicated mom and is serious about maintaining discipline, excellence, and spiritual growth in our home.  I probably frustrate her much more than I ever know by my lack of sensitivity at times and hot-headed reactions other times.  She is a very kind person.  We do, of course, have spats from time to time and hopefully keep learning from them.  She is a great educator as well, teaching part-time to 4 year-olds each fall and spring.

Our lives together began at college, when we both auditioned and were selected for our college’s musical travelling team.  At the time, I was dating another Freshman girl and Deborah thought I was probably too young for her to pursue (she’s just 3 years older than me–don’t tell!).  Our relationship began as partners in ministry, blossomed into friendship, and then matured into love. 

I would be lying if I said our married life hasn’t been rough.  We have moved regularly as I pursued education.  She has often had to work outside the home to help support our family.  We have endured the births of two very premature and consequently expensive babies, both of which have matured well and are strong and healthy now at 3 years and 9 years of age.  We have gone through company downsizing, during which time I was unemployed in the last 4 months of seminary.  Our lives have been tossed at times with medical issues and operations.  Financially, our lives have been nothing short of roller-coasters.

And yet, our life together has been very rich.  We have had the privilege of leading two mission trips together.  We have ministered around the country through music.  We have had such great delight in the birth and rearing of our five wonderful children.  We have taken wonderful trips to places we have always dreamed about.  We have worked together in leading our children’s ministries here at Red Rocks Baptist Church.  Our love has continued to mature as we have aged together.

The bottom line: I can’t imagine life alone.  Not anymore.  I have been blessed with a godly wife who loves me, loves the Lord, and loves our children.  I can’t ask for more than that.  Happy Anniversary, Sweetheart!!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Brian,

    Way to go! Your family has been an example to many in our church. I look forward to being back with you all.

    Surf up,
    Jay

    Reply

  2. Posted by Bob Bixby on June 29, 2006 at 8:31 am

    Congratulations. I’m happy for you, but mildly depressed that my friends are so old. Oh, well…

    Reply

  3. Congrats!!! I was just watching you and Deb sing in our wedding video the other day… you had only been married a few months yourselves. Tony & I have been blessed to have you as friends, to be “Aunt Jenny” and “Uncle Tony” to your children, and to be able to minister with you for several years. We miss you all so much! Brian, your article is great, describes Deborah to a “T”! 🙂 Love you guys!

    Reply

  4. AWW! what a nice guy you are Brian.

    Happy Anniversary.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Charis on July 1, 2006 at 6:24 pm

    Congratulations, Pastor Brian & Deborah! You guys have been a great example to me, and I’m grateful for your friendship. I hope you had a wonderful anniversary!

    Reply

  6. What!?! You go on and on about how great she is, and the only picture you put with it is not of you and her, but a lady carrying roses?
    😉

    Reply

  7. Can’t you see us wwwaaaayyy in the background? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

