To My Sinning Brother, With Love

j0284981.jpgThis is a letter I wrote almost two years ago to a dear brother in Christ who chose sin over obedient love to the Lord.  The name has been changed to protect his privacy.   Tonight, one of our church members called me up and put me on a speakerphone as he witnessed to a man who claimed once to be born again but now espouses a Gnostic faith.  As I exhorted this man to put his faith back into the revealed Word of God and off of his own inner experience, a sense of deep sadness permeated my heart.  When I hear a person who has claimed to be my spiritual brother renounce his faith in Christ, I feel like someone has just physically beaten me.  It tears me apart.  I get enraged with the Devil and his wiles.

So, I thought I would post this letter in the hope that God will bring someone to this blog who needs to hear this message.  If God has brought you to this page and you need counsel, do not hesitate to contact me (bmccrorie@rrm.org).  May God alone receive the glory.

Matthew, 

I have not been able to get you out of my mind the last couple weeks.  I need to say a couple things to you and I hope they will encourage you. 

First, I love you and miss your fellowship at church.  Your life has been a challenge to me over the last year.  The changes God brought to your life and your home were beautiful to watch.  Your desire and hunger for the Lord and others was inspiring to me.  You need to know that you are missed

Second, I know you have been struggling.  Listen, my friend, we all struggle.  I still struggle every day with sins I have struggled with for 20 years.  God didn’t design the Christian life to be easy.  The struggle is part of the price we pay for our rejection of God.  You need to know that nobody—nobody looks down on you because you are struggling.  We all do. 

Third, I plead with you Matthew not to give up on God.  There have been many times when I have failed God and times where I have sunk deeply back into sin.  I have felt like giving up and giving in.  Thank the Lord for friends who got in my face and whose prayers got in my heart.  Paul said he was the chief of sinners and struggled all the time with sin.  The difference is men who truly want to please God don’t give up.  “Forget those things which are behind and press on.”  They may fall but they get back up.  Matthew, please get back up!  Life is not worth living without the joy and peace that comes from a right relationship with Christ. 

Finally, I really want you to come back to church.  I need your fellowship.  You need mine.  And we all need each other.  If it’s embarrassment that is holding you back, you’re being deceived.  All that awaits you here is open arms and unconditional love.  If it’s sin that is holding you back, you’re being convicted by the Holy Spirit and you need to obey Him.  We’re a church full of sinners, Matthew.  But God’s grace is greater than your sin.  Don’t forget that.  Don’t let the Devil dull your spiritual senses.  Fight back and get support from us for your fight.  That’s our job.  That’s our delight. 

Matthew, our church aches with your absence.  You are my brother and the family needs to pull together, especially now.  We all love you.  I know you’re struggling.  Don’t give up.  God is only a reach away.  He loves to forgive His children and His forgiveness is complete.  Come back and get in the fellowship again. 

A heavy-hearted brother,

Brian McCrorie

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hey Brian,
    Great post. Lately God has really impressed upon my heart a deeper understanding of the depravity of all men, especially in regards to myself. The more I look at God, the more I see how bad I am. This, of course, is a very humbling experience that strips away any pride I may have had. I think that it is so important to approach struggling brothers in humility and gentleness, boasting only in Christ and what he did for us on the Cross. This also effects the way we view the lost – we should pity them rather than condemn them.

    Thanks for your thoughtful post.

    P.S. – hope Sharper Iron withdrawl didn’t get you too down! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Great to hear from you, Matt. I agree with your sentiments. When this brother returned to church for the first time, we hugged and cried for a good bit together. I wish I could say that he is still faithfully living for the Lord.

    And no, I actually enjoyed the break from my SI addiction.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

