Desire

ice cream.jpgI'm feeling rather blah.  It's a miserably rainy morning in Colorado.  It's 33 degrees with the tremendously bright prospect of getting a whole 6 degrees warmer at the peak of the day.  My daughter's field trip to the zoo is canceled.  This would be a great day to cancel a good many things.

I'm exhausted.  Did I mention it's Monday morning?  There is no doubt that Monday morning is my most difficult day of the week.  I don't want to get out of bed.  I don't want to teach high schoolers.  I don't want to think.  I want to sleep. 

Sunday, after all, is really not a "sabbath" for me.  All pastors know that Sunday is a work day and a busy one at that.  When you're the music and children's pastor at a church, your Sundays are even more blessedly hectic.  After a 9.5 hour work day, I'm tired.

I'm hungry.  Why I don't make breakfast a habit on Mondays is beyond me.  I know I need the energy.  I know it will give me strength and extend my endurance.  Yet, I habitually do NOT eat breakfast on Monday.  I passed a Burger King on my way in to work this morning and literally began salivating.  Burger King!  If you know me, you know I am no fan of fast-food restaurants.  Yet, there I was dripping down my chin at the mere thought of food.  As I type now, my sack lunch sits next to me on my desk.  I wonder if I'll wait to eat it.

In one respect, I might collect and categorize my feelings today as one big lack of desire.  But, I know that's not true at all.  I have a passionate desire to not work.  I have a passionate desire to sleep.  I have a passionate desire to eat.  I'm convicted as I remember what I taught our elementary children last night at Discovery Park, our church kids club:

"Listen carefully to our memory verse for tonight.

As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby: If so be ye have tasted that the Lord is gracious. 1 Peter 2:2-3

Our memory verse teaches us that a good way to grow to be more like Jesus is to DESIRE the Word of God. Just like a baby WANTS his mommy’s milk, we need to DESIRE God’s Words. Now listen carefully, this does NOT mean that a Christian simply needs to read the Bible. Anyone can do that. Unsaved people can do that. A Christian needs to DESIRE it more than anything.

In the Old Testament, King David wrote some poetry about this. Listen as I read it:

The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul: the testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple. The statutes of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart: the commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes. The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring for ever: the judgments of the LORD are true and righteous altogether. More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb. Psalm 19:7-10

Did you hear that! I can’t believe David would say that. "More than gold!" "Sweeter than honey!" What was David thinking? Well, boys and girls, think of the amount of money you would like to have in your piggy bank. Do you want it? Really want it? David says to want God’s Word more. Think of your favorite food. Do you want it? Really want it? David says to want God’s Word more.

Boys and girls, do you DESIRE God’s Word in this way? If you want to "grow up" to be more like Jesus, you must WANT God’s Word, NEED God’s Word, more than anything."

I needed that sermon.  Of all the things I desire this Monday morning, God's Word has not been one of them.  Sure, I've read it today–thought a little about it–but I haven't desired it.  I haven't needed it.  That stops now.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Brian,

    Great blog site. Not sure about Burger King though. Maybe a Big Mac would be better or even some KFC.

    Reply

  2. Fortunately, I don’t pass a McDonalds or I might have stopped.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jenny on April 24, 2006 at 11:34 am

    Thanks, Brian. Love your new blog, and I love hearing your thoughts and reading a little about the family! We miss you guys!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

